The house at 223 N. Edgeworth was already 15 years old when the Civil War began. Now, after 171 years, it thrives as a testament to Greensboro’s antebellum Southern charm. Built in 1846 for Dr. and Mrs. David Weir, it was possibly designed by renowned architect Alexander Jackson Davis of New York, when his designs for Blandwood and the Raleigh State Capitol were being built. The two-story center hall floor plan has never undergone a major structural renovation and retains many original elements such as plaster moldings, four-panel doors, molded baseboards, staircase and newel. After the Weirs’ deaths, the home was sold to tobacconist and Sheriff James Jordan for $5000. He left his indelible mark on the house by adding iron “J’s” on the downstairs fireplaces.
The Greensboro Woman’s Club acquired the property in 1921 and has maintained it to this day. The meeting space inside was enlarged by enclosing the first level of the two-story front porch and removing the north and south parlor walls. A commercial kitchen allows for catering meals for civic meetings, weddings, rehearsal dinners and dances. Grants and donations fund major restoration projects such as heating and air, roofing and painting.
As one of Greensboro’s nine remaining pre-Civil War structures, the home was listed on the National Historic Register in 1984 and continues to witness Greensboro’s growth and progress.